One election, one country; the Central government has appointed an eight-member commission.

By: 600011 On: Sep 3, 2023, 3:14 PM


The national government has constituted an eight-member committee to investigate the feasibility of holding simultaneous elections for the Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies. Former President Ram Nath Kovind and Union Home Minister Amit Shah are among the members, as are Congress Lok Sabha Leader Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary, Former Kashmir Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, 15th Finance Commission Chairman NK Singh, Former Lok Sabha Secretary General Subhash Kashyap, Senior Advocate Harish Salve, Former Chief Vigilance Commissioner, and Sanjay Kothari.

Arjun Ram Meghwal, Union Minister of State for Law, was chosen as the committee's special invitee, while Nitin Chandra, Union Law Ministry Secretary, was chosen as the secretary. The committee's responsibility is to present the required ideas for the federal government's plan to hold simultaneous local self-government elections, assembly elections, and Lok Sabha elections. The Ministry of Law will handle the committee's office, as well as its preparation and expenses.